Eye Openers

tumblr_lxk2gl4xhq1r726ojo1_500I read a post today. It made me think about certain things.

I will continue to say, until I feel I am of an age wherein I no longer feel I should say this but I am young so if you think this is just the ramblings of a fool then be on your way. But if your not close minded then read on…

we are too quick to stick labels on things. As soon as i get a new folder or a new coat I grab a pen and write my name as neatly as I possibly can on the labels. Admittedly I do this out of habit however my point is still valid. I don’t stop to think “the folder might not just contain English notes” I just stick a label on it. I know what you’re thinking “what the hell are you talking about” When we meet someone new we stick a label on them

” she’s a Geek” ” she’s a slut look at her make up and the ways she..” ” he is clearly just a uptight” “he’s nothing but a teenager”

well that’s barely scratching the surface, what you don’t know is she’s really smart but had to work 24 hours a day and stay after school for five hours to remain smart and he’s made no action that shows he is “just a teenager” yet you assume he is beneath you and is uneducated.

picsay-1347024416-750x750

The post I read basically spoke about self harming and briefly what drove the author to it, before this I read another Blog wherein the author spoke about his battle with depression and what led him to where he is today. This made me think of someone I knew and what drove her to it and what its like trying to be there for her but knowing she’s potentially a ticking time bomb. It all stems back to labels and the damage society can do. I know personally for my friend she sees it as there is just simply no other way out and although I don’t self-harm I know it must be hard for those who do.

Below is the comment I commented on the author of “Brave The World” I’m putting it up on my Blog because I hope people act the same way that I did (not trying to be big headed)

BLOG : http://maggyliu.wordpress.com/2015/01/04/brave-the-world/comment-page-1/#comment-31

The posts title is perfect your brave and by the sounds of things you’ve stopped which in itself is an extremely hard thing to do, so I’m told. A few of my friends self harm and I think the problem is that a lot of people get branded for doing it because they are attention seekers, whether they are or not is beside the point its going to have damaging effects to their bodies and minds. This post needed to be said and I’M glad someone put it out there. too many people feel alone and like they have to deal with the bad all by themselves and that’s not good enough we as society need to make sure that that’s not good enough. You sound like an amazing person and yeah when I’m having a hard time I like to take walks but I don’t want you to think this is an empty promise, I genuinely mean it. I’m young so you might see me as a nuisance rather than a friend but if you’re ever having a bad time or anything you can always talk to me. like i said not an empty promise. besides that your Blog post is real and its truthful. everything the horrible truth is laid out on a plate and its an eye opener for people that do and don’t self harm so i guess what I’m trying to say is thank you”

30d65f5

2 responses to “Eye Openers

  1. Wow I feel so honoured to be a part of the inspiration behind this post I actually am just sort of blown away.

    I genuinely appreciate the offer you’ve made, I don’t see you as a nuisance at all! I would never refuse an offer for a new friend, the fact that people like you exist is a great thing, thanks for existing basically 🙂

    Like

    • I’m just thankful for your Blog I can show my friend and hopefully she’ll find a little comfort in knowing that there are other people that have been through and are going through what she is. I like knowing I’ve stood up for what I believe and I know that people shouldn’t be judged because of the way they feel

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

